2017 SEA-HVO Traveling Fellowships Awarded

  • Print

Health Volunteers Overseas (HVO), in collaboration with the Society for Education in Anesthesia (SEA), is pleased to share that nine anesthesia residents will receive a 2017 SEA-HVO Traveling Fellowship.

The recipients are:

  • Anna Budde, MD (Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School)
  • Pooja Dave, MD (George Washington University Hospital)
  • Jude Drivers, MD (University of Massachusetts Medical Center)
  • Graham Hill, DO (Medical College of Wisconsin)
  • Bryce Holmgren, MD (University of Kansas Medical Center)
  • Keri Koszela, MD (Johns Hopkins Hospital)
  • Travis Reece-Nguyen, MD, MPH (University of Washington)
  • Sara Strowd, MD (Loyola University Chicago)
  • Marcus Walton, MD (Drexel University College of Medicine, Hahnemann University Hospital).

Each Fellow will serve a one-month assignment at an HVO anesthesia site.

The SEA-HVO Fellowship allows senior anesthesia residents the opportunity to improve anesthesia care in resource-scarce countries by teaching and mentoring their counterparts. The SEA-HVO Fellows are able to witness a wide range of surgical pathologies and anesthetic techniques not commonly seen in the United States. They learn to communicate more effectively with people from different cultures and observe the realities and constraints of delivering health care in a resource-scarce environment. Most importantly, SEA-HVO Fellows serve as teachers of anesthesia and role models for anesthesia students at HVO project sites and contribute to the safety of future patients receiving anesthesia.

The SEA-HVO Traveling Fellowship would not be possible without the generous support of Dr. Jo Davies, Dr. Chris and Rebecca Dobson, Dr. Lena E. Dohlman, Dr. Lisa Feintech, Dr. Ronald L. Katz, Dr. Gary E. Loyd, the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER), and SEA members.